Science Hangout

 
   

Nikolay Dokholyan — Biochemistry and Biophysics - UNC …


Nikolay
www.med.unc.edu

Research: Computation/Experimental biophysics and structural biology … Proctor, E. A., Kota, P., Aleksandrov, A. A., He, L., Riordan, J. R., Dokholyan, N. V …

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Gordon L. Hager, Ph.D. | Center for Cancer Research


Gordon
http://ccr.cancer.gov

Reorganization of the nuclear chromatin environment is a fundamental component of gene regulation. A primary focus of our work is the identification and …

Proceed to Hangouts >>

John R. Kirby, PhD | Professor of Microbiology


John
Research Summary
Our major areas of investigation focus on signal transduction in diverse bacteria ranging from soil dwelling spore formers, Bacillus subtilis and Myxococcus xanthus, to biofilm forming pathogens, to microbial communities in the gut.
Proceed to Hangouts >>

Karen Duff, Ph.D. | Professor of Pathology & Cell Biology


KarenResearch Summary
In general, we are exploring what goes wrong in the brains of patients with neurodegenerative diseases, especially Alzheimer’s disease (AD) and Frontal Temporal lobe Degeneration linked to tauopathy (FTD-tau) with the overall aim of identifying…
Proceed to Hangouts >>

Atsuo Sasaki, PhD

Atsuo
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Cancer Biology


Research/Clinical Interests:
Cancer metabolism and signaling, Hematology Oncology
proceed to Hangout >>

Jeffrey Michael Field | Professor of Pharmacology


Jeffrey
Research Expertise:
The cytoskeleton in cell signaling and cancer




Shankar Subramaniam - Principal Investigator

http://genome.ucsd.edu/people_shankar.html
Shankar Subramaniam Shankar Subramaniam is a Professor of Bioengineering, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Medicine and Nano Engineering. He is currently the Chair of the Bioengineering Department at the University of California at San Diego. He holds the inaugural Joan and Irwin Jacobs Endowed Chair in Bioengineering and Systems Biology.
Proceed to Hangouts >>


 

Dr. Martine F. Roussel


Dr. Roussel obtained her PhD at the University of Sciences in Lille, France, and did her post-doctoral fellowship as a Fogarty International Fellow in the Laboratory of Tumor Virus Genetics at the National Cancer Institute in Bethesda, MD. She and her husband Dr. Sherr then moved to SJCRH where she rose through the ranks where she is now Full Member in the Department of Tumor Cell Biology and Full Professor in the Department of Molecular Sciences at the University of Tennessee.
Proceed to Hangouts >>

David J. Katz, Ph. D.

 http://cellbio.emory.edu/lab/katz/index.htm
Katz  Assistant Professor
Department of Cell Biology, Emory University, Atlanta, GA 

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Cagla Eroglu, Ph.D

 Dr. Cagla Erogluhttp://www.cellbio.duke.edu/cagla-eroglu/

Assistant Professor, Cell Biology
Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Charan Ranganath, Ph.D

 Dr. Charan Ranganathhttp://psychology.ucdavis.edu/people/charan

Professor, Department of Psychology
University of California, Davis, CA, USA


Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Christopher S. Colwell, Ph.D

 Dr. Christopher S. ColwellProfessor, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA 
Topic: Circadian and Sleep Medicine
http://www.mrrc.npi.ucla.edu/ccolwell/Page1.htm

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Matthew Bogyo, PhD

 Dr. Matthew BogyoProfessor of Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
Stanford University, CA, USA

Topic- Proteases in parasites and tumorigenesis


http://bogyolab.stanford.edu/research.html

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Kalina Hristova, PhD


Marlin U. Zimmerman Jr. Faculty Scholar; Professor
Johns Hopkins Whiting School of Engineering
Baltimore, MD, USA
Title: "Dimerization and activation of receptor tyrosine kinases:
insights from quantitative fluorescence studies

http://engineering.jhu.edu/materials/faculty/kalina-hristova/

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Cheryl S. Rosenfeld, PhD, DVM


Associate Professor of Biomedical Sciences
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211

Title: “Discovery of a Seminal Fluid Microbiome and How it Might Influence Health of the Male and His Offspring”

http://biomed.missouri.edu/cheryl-s-rosenfeld-phd-dvm/

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Steven Roberts


Assistant professor
WSU School of Molecular Biosciences
Title: Editing of Cancer Genomes by APOBEC cytidine deaminases

April 20th: 1 pm EST, 12 pm CST, 10 am PST

http://www.smb.wsu.edu/faculty-trainees-and-staff/faculty/steven-roberts

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Herman Pontzer


Associate Professor, Dept of Anthropology
Hunter College, City University of New York, USA

Title: Evolutionary Constraints on Total Energy Expenditure

April 21st : 10.30 am EST, 9.30 am CST, 7.30 am PST

http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/anthropology/faculty-staff/full-time-faculty/pontzer-herman

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Kenneth S. Kosik, MA, MD


Harriman Professor of Neuroscience
Co-Director Neuroscience Research Institute
University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Title: Primate Brain Expansion: Nature’s Social Experiments with Gene, Cell, and Anatomical Novelty

May 2nd: 1 pm EST, 12 pm CST, 10 am PST

https://www.mcdb.ucsb.edu/people/faculty/kosik

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Sandra Rieger, PhD


Assistant Professor, Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory, ME, USA

Title: Perturbed neuroepithelial crosstalk as underlying cause of Taxol-induced neurotoxicity"

May 11th: 11 am ESt, 10 am CST, 8 am PST

https://mdibl.org/faculty/sandra-rieger/

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Nan Zhang, PhD


Project Leader/Postdoctoral Fellow,
Northwestern University, Chicago, IL, USA
Title: Zinc fireworks, the signature of human egg activation, reveal egg quality?


May 16th: 10 AM EST, 9 AM CST, 7 AM PST

https://www.woodrufflab.org/people/nan-zhang

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Theodore Price, PhD


Associate Professor
University of Texas at Dallas
Texas, USA

Title: Switching circuits: how differences in coding of acute and chronic pain may lead to better pain therapeutics

June 7th: 10 am EST, 9 am CST, 7 am PST

http://bbs.utdallas.edu/people/detail.php5?i=1211

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr.Koichi Kobayashi, M.D, Ph.D.


Professor,Texas A&M Health Science Center
Department of Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology
College Station, TX , USA

Title: NLRC5/CITA: a critical regulator of MHC class I antigen-presentation and cancer immunity
June 22nd: 12 pm EST, 11 am CST, 9 am PST

http://medicine.tamhsc.edu/mpim/faculty/kobayashi.html

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Kristen Brennand, PhD


Assistant Professor of Psychiatry & Neuroscience
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY

Title: Modeling predisposition to schizophrenia using stem cells.

June 29th: Time: EST 2 pm, CST 1 pm, PST 11 am
http://icahn.mssm.edu/profiles/kristen-brennand

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Dr. Andrew Ewald, Ph.D.


Dr. Andrew Ewald, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Cell Biology
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD, USA

Title: “Understanding breast cancer invasion and metastasis."

July 8th: Time: 9 am EST, 8 am CST, 7 am PST

http://cellbio.jhmi.edu/people/faculty/andrew-ewald-phd

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Deanna Barch

Dr. Deanna Barch, PhD


Chair, Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences
Washington University, 
St. Louis, MO 63130

Title: Motivation and Pleasure in Psychosis.

Aug 17th 2016 - Time: 3 pm EST, 2 pm CST, 12 noon PST
https://psychweb.wustl.edu/people/deanna-barch

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Charles Brenner

Dr. Charles Brenner, PhD


Roy J. Carver Chair of Biochemistry
Carver College of Medicine
University of Iowa

Title:First clinical trial of NAD+ Boosting Vitamin, Nicotinamide Riboside (NR)

Oct 10, 2016 - 3.30 pm EST, 2.30 pm CST, 12.30 pm PST, 1 am IST
http://www.medicine.uiowa.edu/biochem/labs/brenner/

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Debra

Dr.Debra Silver, Ph.D


Assistant Professor
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham , NC, USA

Title: From development to evolution: Common dynamic mechanisms shaping our brains and underlying disease

Jan 25th- 8.30 am CST, 9.30 am EST, 6.30 am PST, 8 pm IST
https://www.neuro.duke.edu/people/faculty/debra-silver

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Indira

Dr. Indira Mysorekar, PhD


Associate Professor,
Departments of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Pathology & Immunology

Title: Zika virus and maternal fetal transmission

Feb 2nd - 9.30 am EST, 8.30 CST, 6.30 am PST, 8 pm IST
http://dbbs.wustl.edu/rib/MysorekarIndU


Proceed to Hangouts >>

Mike

Dr. Mike Pluth


Associate Professor
Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemical Biology
University of Oregon, USA

Title: Sulfur, Sulfur Everywhere! The Multifaceted Roles of Sulfur-Containing Biomolecules

Feb 28th: 8.30 pm EST, 7.30 pm CST, 5.30 pm PST
http://chemistry.uoregon.edu/profile/pluth/

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Globa

Ms. Andrea Globa



Graduate Student
Department of Cellular and Physiological Sciences
The  University of British Columbia, Canada

Title: Cadherins mediate cocaine-induced synaptic plasticity and behavioural conditioning 

March 6th: 10 am PST, 12 pm CST, 1 pm EST, 11.30 pm IST


Proceed to Hangouts >>

Mike

Dr. Gretchen Mahler


Assistant Professor, 
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Binghamton University, New York, USA
Title: "Development of physiologically realistic cell culture models of barrier tissues"
March 16th: 8.30 am EST, 7.30 am CST, 5.30 am PST, 7 pm IST

https://www.binghamton.edu/biomedical-engineering/people/mahler.html

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Mike

Dr.Saurabh Chatterjee


Associate Professor 
Director, Environmental Health & Disease Laboratory
Department of Environmental Health Sciences,
Arnold School of Public Health
University of South Carolina, SC, USA
Title: TRPV4: The Obelix of the hepatic Gaul
March 23rd: 4.30 pm EST, 3.30 pm CST & 1.30 pm PST

http://chatterjeelab.org

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Mike

Dr. Christopher Deppmann


Associate Professor
Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program
Departments of Biology,  Biomedical Engineering, Cell Biology, and Neuroscience
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Title: Assembling and disassembling the nervous system
April 7th - 3 pm EST, 2pm CST, 12 pm PST

http://bio.as.virginia.edu/people/cd2fj

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Huising

Dr. Mark Huising


Assistant Professor
Department of Neurobiology, Physiology & Behavior, College of Biological Sciences & Department of Physiology & Membrane Biology, School of Medicine
University of California, Davis
Title: Urocortin3: How local crosstalk controls beta cell fate and function
May 4th: 12pm EST, 11am CST, 9am PST, 9.30pm IST

http://biosci3.ucdavis.edu/Faculty/Profile/View/14478

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Huising

Dr. Suzanne E. Lapi


Director, Cyclotron Facility; Director, Radiochemistry Laboratory
Associate Professor, Advanced Imaging Facility, Division of Advanced Medical Imaging Research
University of Alabama Birmingham, AL, USA
Hangout Title: From Isotopes to Images: Radioactive Materials as Tools in Medicine and Basic Science
May 11th: 9 am EST, 8 am CST, 6 am PST, 6.30 am IST

https://www.uab.edu/medicine/radiology/div-advanced-med-imaging/30-directory/advanced-med-research/599-suzanne-e-lapi-ph-d

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Huising

Dr. Christopher Gregg



Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Anatomy,
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Human Genetics,
University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT , USA
Title “Nongenetic allele-specific effects shape cellular gene expression in the mammalian brain”
May 17:12 pm MST, 1 pm CST,  2 pm EST, 11 am PST, 11.30 pm IST

http://medicine.utah.edu/faculty/mddetail.php?facultyID=u0730387

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Huising

Dr. David Hendrix, PhD



Assistant Professor 
Dept. of Biochemistry and Biophysics
School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR, USA

Hangout Title:"Biological discovery through Transcriptomics"
Hangout Schedule:June 1st 2017: 2 pm PST, 4 pm CST, 5 pm EST

http://medicine.utah.edu/faculty/mddetail.php?facultyID=u0730387

Proceed to Hangouts >>

Huising

Dr. Vernita Gordon



Assistant Professor, Department of Physics
University of Texas at Austin

Title:"How does physics impact biofilm infections?"

Jun 20: 11.15 am EST, 10.15 am CST, 8.15 am PST, 8.45 pm IST

http://chaos.utexas.edu/people/faculty/vernita-gordon

Proceed to Hangouts >>